top of page

Penny for your thoughts

Journaling and all things creative

IMG_5219_edited_edited.jpg

Journaling: Getting started

Updated: Aug 14, 2018



Products shown in image above:

Journal: Chapters | Indigo

Pencil case & pencils: Chapters | Indigo

 

Journaling is a practice that is developed and improved just like learning an instrument or playing a sport. You start by learning the basics then go more into detail once you've mastered theses tasks. With journaling, the easiest place to start it to treat it like a diary, This process is as simple as taking out a notebook and pencil and recording your bests or worst moments of the day. You can chose to write the events to yourself or the journal itself. This beginning allows you to understand what parts of your day stand out and are of significance to you. By analyzing what parts of your day are still with you by the end of it, you may become aware of what simple things make you the happiest or even what little things you hold onto right until you go to sleep.


When I started out, my very firsts journaling entries either said: "Today was a good day", "Today was a great day", or "today was not a very good day". After this initial realization, I would then go on to list the events that made those hours what they were, whether is was good or bad. After writing out what had been making me upset or even reflecting on what made me so happy, I went to bed with a clear head. I was now free of thought and able to let my mind rest completely, allowing me to have a fresh start in the morning.


Over time, journaling will evolve into a form of self healing and forgiveness. As the practice develop so will you, so stick with it and journal as much as you can, remembering to treat it as a gift to yourself and not an extra task that must be completed every night.


-- Sarah


 
18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Subscribe

Sign up to receive email notifications and exclusive content :)

"I choose to feel good about myself each day. Every morning I remind myself that I can make the choice to feel good. This is a new habit for me to cultivate."

- Louise Hay

bottom of page